yogabeing

yoga blog by yoga lover in Bicester

Making a living or making a life

on July 12, 2014

Just read a thought provoking blog under the heading ‘I’ve learned making a living is not the same thing as making a life’.

http://tinybuddha.com/blog/your-job-doesnt-define-you/

This really resonated with me.  For many years I strove to gain a top leadership role – studied and worked  for 50-60 hours a week.  Yet having reached what I thought was my goal … somehow it didn’t bring me the satisfaction I’d craved.

I’d been attending yoga classes regularly, and decided to deepen my practice my embarking on a Foundation Course run by the British Wheel of Yoga …. and I was hooked.  I’d started to work out what was real and what wasn’t, and  to define myself by something other than a job title or earnings.

The next step was a two year yoga teaching diploma course and as I discovered more and more, I started to find that sense of peace and wellbeing.

8 years on I do a basic job and am endeavouring to reduce my hours of work so there’s more time to devote to yoga and the things that really matter … and am so glad … I earn less than half what I used to but feel so much happier, less stressed and so much more healthy.

 

 

 

 

One response to “Making a living or making a life

  1. Tamika Simpson says:

    Love a nice read about finding what truly makes us happy…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

