yogabeing

yoga blog by yoga lover in Bicester

Why yoga keeps me learning

on September 12, 2014

I’ve often noticed that  I can be doing a yoga posture that I know really well, and have probably done hundreds of times before, yet it never ever seems boring … there’s always something else to notice …to be aware of….. something that just keeps my yoga fresh, interesting, rewarding and wonderful.

Have just been reading about the concept of the Cross of Learning ….. and it really resonated with me.  It’s mentioned by Alison Trewhela in her Yoga for Health Lower Backs book (a programme I’m teaching in Bicester).  She says “one of the wonderful aspects of yoga is that the subject is vast.  Learning can take place at various levels and layers and go in various directions.  Typically in the West, we feel we must learn ‘vertically’ with learning becoming more difficult as we go in an upward direction.  Similarly, we can learn more challenging yoga poses, but the more yoga we do, often the more we benefit from returning to the very basic simple poses and penetrating downward or inward gaining more precision, depth and subtlety.  In yoga we also learn ‘horizontally’, by adding ever more details about the same poses.  All these different directions of learning should be regarded as progression in yoga.”

I’ve blogged about this concept myself, as it is to me a really important principle.  I feel it’s somewhere so much of the joy of yoga comes from.  There’s no need to do gymnastic poses …..just feel your yoga from your heart and it will always be fresh, vibrant an amazing.

Leave a Reply

