yogabeing

yoga blog by yoga lover in Bicester

Who am I?

on March 5, 2015

Who am I?   A powerful meditation …. and one I’ve been contemplating on for some time.  Do I know the answer … really know the answer … no … somehow every time I get close to feeling ‘I’ve got it’, things change … and I guess that’s the essence of life … nothing is permanent … everything is transient.

And I guess some of the value of the meditation is looking beyond my ego’s definition of me … to really discover what lies beneath.  And right now, I don’t think I get to that depth of understanding.

I’ve been working with a quote that caught my eye recently “Being myself includes taking risks with myself, taking risks on new behaviour, trying new ways of ‘being myself, so that I can see who it is I want to be”.  I’ve had some fun and some revelations …. become so much more aware of the contradictions within myself … the different facets of my personality.  Learning about me ….. how I relate to others, what makes me tick.

Another powerful quote that somehow takes this a stage further … and in the right direction (for me) is “Always do your best.  What you plant now, you will harvest later”.  Whilst I don’t believe we should act predominantly out of self interest, the idea that ‘as you sow, so you will reap’ is sound.

Do we ever really work out who we are?  Are we a never changing being.  I think not, but spending time meditation on the questions can certainly bring both answers and more questions.

Often the meditation is turned around as ‘I am’ (So Ham) …. equally as powerful and often drops into Who am I

Leave a Reply

